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Note:

Red text applies only to the Napoleonic Rules.

Green text applies only to the Ancient Rules.
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LEADERS

Leader Casualty Fate
After the battle has been resolved, for each Leader casualty, roll on the appropriate table below to
determine the Leader’s fate.

Casualty in Melee Combat vs Infantry or Cavalry / Mounted
1 Slain
2 Mortal Wound
3-6 Roll Again...
1-2 Captured
3 Crippled
4 Serious Wound
5 Moderate Wound
6 Light Wound

Casualty in Other Circumstances
1 Slain
2 Mortal Wound
3-6 Roll Again...
1 Crippled
2 Serious Wound
3-4  Moderate Wound
5-6  Light Wound

Explanations of results

Captured — Captured by the enemy.

Crippled - Seriously wounded and carried from the field on a blanket. He later recovers but is
crippled permanently and retires to live the rest of his life in peace on his estate / villa.

Light Wound - Lightly wounded and helped from the battlefield by his staff. He recovers to fight
again and returns to duty after a few days.

Moderate Wound — Moderately wounded and injured when his horse was shot and fell on him. He
was helped from the battlefield by his staff. He recovers to fight again and returns to duty after a few
weeks. He misses the next battle in the campaign.

Mortal Wound — Seriously wounded and carried from the field on a blanket. He later died under the
surgeon’s knife.

Serious Wound — Seriously wounded and carried from the field on a blanket by his staff and soldiers
from a nearby unit. After a few days he recovers enough to command from an open carriage / litter
but will not be fully recovered until he can take a long rest at the end of the campaign.



Slain — Killed in action. Decapitated by a cannon ball, takes a musket ball through the heart or a sabre
stroke that couldn’t be parried. Decapitated by a sword stroke, takes an arrow in the eye or a pilum
that couldn’t be stopped by a shield.

Leader Replacement
Leaders that are Captured, Crippled, Mortally Wounded or Slain are immediately replaced by a New
Leader. A subordinate is promoted.

Leaders that are Moderately Wounded are immediately replaced by a Temporary Leader. A
subordinate fills the gap while the Leader recovers.

Leadership Quality

A Leader commanding from an open carriage / litter instead of horseback, has his movement
reduced to 1, as does any unit to which he is attached. His movement may not be increased by
playing a card.

A replacement Leader must be designated as Infantry, Cavalry or Artillery and may only be attached
to that type of unit.

A replacement Leader must be designated as Infantry or Mounted and may only be attached to that
type of unit.

Carriage-bound, Litter-bound, New and Temporary Leaders have their command range reduced to 2
instead of 3. When ordering units in contiguous hexes, they are limited to 2 instead of 3.

CAPTURING A FLAG

When a unit is eliminated in melee (including battle back) its opponent should attempt to capture its
flag. This could be an Eagle, Colour, Standard or Guidon. Not all units have flags, this must be decided
in the campaign. For example some light infantry and light cavalry units did not carry flags in the
field.

Infantry may capture the flag of other infantry and cavalry that of either infantry or cavalry. To be
eligible, an ordered unit must take ground.

Roll 2 dice:
Flag+Flag The flag has been captured.

Flag+Cavalry An infantry flag has been captured by a cavalry unit.

GLORY

Glory Counters are awarded at the end of each battle. The losing side gets one Glory Counter if it
gets at least half the required number of Victory Banners. The winning side gains Glory Counters
equal to one plus half the difference in Victory Banners (rounded down). One additional Glory
Counter is awarded for each leader or flag captured.

Glory Counters can be used in subsequent battles in the campaign in a number of different ways.



Heroic Unit

Immediately after a battle has been completed, the winning side may use one Glory Counter gained
during the battle to class a surviving infantry or cavalry unit as “Heroic”. The unit must have
performed exceptionally well during the battle. That unit may then appear in following battles. It will
remain heroic until such time as it loses a block.

A heroic Infantry unit will battle as Grenadier.

A heroic Cavalry unit will battle as Cuirassier (but without the advantage vs lancers or infantry fire). If
light, a unit’s normal movement capabilities will be retained even when Heroic.

Artillery units may not be heroic.

Immediately after a battle has been completed, the winning side may use one Glory Counter gained
during the battle to class a surviving infantry or cavalry / mounted (other than elephant) unit as
“Heroic”. The unit must have performed exceptionally well during the battle. That unit may then
appear in following battles. It will remain heroic until the end of the battle in which it first loses a
block.

When heroic, an Infantry unit will battle as Grenadier and a Cavalry unit as Cuirassier. If light, a unit’s
normal movement capabilities will be retained even when Heroic. Artillery units may not be heroic.

A heroic unit will score one hit for each leader symbol rolled in close combat. A leader does not have
to be attached or in an adjacent hex to confer this benefit. A heroic unit may ignore one flag.

Anti-Guerrilla patrol
Peninsular War Campaign in Spain only:

When the Spanish player uses a Scout Command Card to obtain a Guerrilla Counter, use one Glory
Counter to negate this ability. Both the Guerrilla Counter and the Glory Counter are discarded.

Ordenanza
Peninsular War Campaign in Portugal only:

At the start of a battle, the allied player may use one Glory Counter to gain a Portuguese Militia
Infantry. This must be placed:

e adjacent to another Portuguese unit and closer to the base edge than that unit.
e on the allied player’s base edge.

Rally

In order to Rally, a Glory Counter can be played at the start of your turn immediately prior to playing
a Command Card. This returns a single block of any type to any single under strength unit anywhere
on the battlefield. A unit may not gain more blocks than it originally had. Rallied units are not
automatically ordered.

Elephant units may not be rallied.



Leadership

In order to gain a Leadership bonus, a Glory Counter can be played at the start of your turn
immediately prior to playing a Command Card. This will allow one ordered unit to roll 1 additional die
if it battles. Cavalry / Mounted that get their battle dice reduced by bad terrain may not use this
bonus.

Infantry in or cavalry attacking a square may not use this bonus.

Stragglers
At the start of a battle, up to half of your available glory points may be used to make the opposing
army straggle. For each glory point spent, roll one die.

Die Roll Effect

Infantry Your opponent must remove one block from an infantry unit of his choice.
Cavalry Your opponent must remove one block from a cavalry unit of his choice.
Artillery Your opponent must remove one block from an artillery unit of his choice.
Red Your opponent must remove one block from any red unit of his choice.
Blue Your opponent must remove one block from any blue unit of his choice.
Green Your opponent must remove one block from any green unit of his choice.
Leader No effect

Flag Your opponent must retreat one unit of his choice back one hex.

Sabres You remove one block from a full strength unit of your choice.




